2.4 Schedules & Attendance: Default Settings

Updated May 09, 2020

In order to use the Scheduling & Attendance Module you must set the defaults. Default settings will be used across the platform unless you decide to override them in specific locations such as a site, zone or even for a complete department.

Settings > Backoffice Configurations > BackOffice Default > Schedule Default Settings

Follow the guidance below to set your own defaults.

Choose a Cycle First Date

Unless changed for a specific zone, site or department this will be the default duration of the template. Default options are 7 or 14 days. 

To apply a specific cycle setting to a zone, site or department, follow one of those paths: 

Sites (Client) > Select Site > Schedules > Prepare > Settings

Sites (client) > Site Zones (Groups) > Select Zone > Schedules > Prepare > Settings

Employees > Department > View desired Department > Schedules > Prepare > Settings

Operation Dashboard - Google Chrome

In this screen, you can also configure the following settings at the site, zone or department level.

Show Closed Days in Template: Differentiate between closed days and days when the client is open.

Allow Shift Board Self-Schedule: This setting allows guards to schedule themselves for vacant shifts that have been posted to the shift board.

Schedule Cycle: Choose from 7-day, 14-day and custom options. This setting determines the length of a single schedule template period.

First Period Start Date: Your template begins on this date. The day on which this date falls is the day on which your schedule cycle will begin each period. See: Schedule Template First Day of Week.

Schedule Template First Day of Week

Unless changed for a specific zone, site or department this will be the default starting day of the week for each schedule template.

If the default is set to a Monday, the template will repeat from Monday to Sunday (every 7 days  schedule cycle). If the start date for a specific site is set to a Thursday, it will repeat from Thursday to Wednesday (every 7 days  schedule cycle). And will continue unless a change is made to the schedule cycle or the first period start date.

To apply a specific cycle or template setting to a zone, site or department, follow one of these paths: 

Sites (Client) > Select Site > Schedules > Prepare > Settings

Sites (client) > Site Zones (Groups) > Select Zone > Schedules > Prepare > Settings

Employees > Department > View desired Department > Schedules > Prepare > Settings

Preferred Schedule Publishing Frequency

Default options are Weekly, Bi-Weekly, or Monthly. 

When publishing, all shifts will publish by default to zones, sites and departments. 

You can also publish to sites, zones or departments only, or publish to a specific one of these entities. To do so, follow one of these paths.

Dashboard > Schedules & Attendance > Live Schedule > Publish Schedules

Sites (Client) > Select Client > Schedules > Prepare > Publish

Operation Dashboard - Google Chrome
Allow Scheduling For Closed Business Days

Identify days when the site is not occupied, such as weekends for an office building, and allow specific shifts to be scheduled on those days. This option will be added to your template, to allow a special schedule on those days. 

To set up a special schedule on closed business days, follow this path:

Sites (Client) > Select Client > Schedules > Prepare > Template > Settings > Closed Days

Operation Dashboard - Google Chrome
Request Employee Schedule Acknowledgment

The schedule must be published before it can be distributed. Distribute the schedule via email to allow officers to confirm their shifts directly from their email. They will receive an automated email based on the range for which the schedule was distributed.

To distribute a schedule, follow this path:

Sites (Client) > Select Client > Schedules > Distribute Schedule

Until employees acknowledge their schedule, the Dashboard will display red tiles with numbers. This represents the number of shifts that have not been acknowledged. You can look at the unconfirmed and find a specific employee. From there, you will have access to each unconfirmed shift. 

To access it, follow this path:

Dashboard > Schedules & Attendance > Dashboard > Unconfirmed Shifts

Minimum Rest Period Between Shifts

Enter the number of hours. This will enforce a minimum rest period between shifts when an employee is scheduled. Note that a shift does not need to be published for this to work.

Send Late Clock-Out Alert
  • In your portal, go to Settings → Settings. The System Configs screen appears.
  • In the left menu, click Scheduling.
  • For the field Send Late Clock-Out Alert after (in minutes) enter the number of minutes for the grace period after shift ends to trigger the clock-out notification.
  • Click Save.
  • Mobile users will get a pop-up message with the following options:
    • Clock out & Stay Signed In
    • Clock Out & Sign Out
    • Snooze (5 min). If the mobile user is still on duty, they will have the option to snooze this reminder message for 5 minutes until they are asked to clock out again. If the user has the shift extended, the alert will stop.

Note: As long as a user has a scheduled shift and is clocked in, the user will get the clock-out reminder notification. If a user clocks-out but is still signed-in then the user will not get the notification.

Previous Article 2.3 Schedules and Attendance: Shift Tiles
Next Article 2.5 Schedules & Attendance: Reports

Still Need Help?

Contact Us